Getting my craft on (and organised!)

I wrote recently how my crafting mojo is back with a vengeance, although it is sometimes hard to find the time to get on with what I want to do, what with having a baby and all. So I decided to get my crafty life organised, in order to get stuff done in an orderly way. I currently have a stack of knitting and sewing books in the living room, which are driving Benn mad (there will be reviews of these popping up soon and, hopefully, if I can work out my sewing machine, exciting sewing-related posts…)

 

books

This is just a small percentage of the craft books I own; these are my recent acquisitions and I’m working my way through them. I must admit, I’m a one-project-at-a-time gal and I’m still working on the OWLS jumper (knitting sleeves is SO BORING.) But I hit upon an idea.

ready

I decided to utilise one of my many notebooks to sort out which projects from each book I wanted to make. Knitting Everyday Finery is one of my favourite books at the moment; I bought it with my birthday money as it passed my knitting book rule: I need to want to make at least three patterns for it to be worth me buying it. I’ll be reviewing this in detail next week!

notes

What I’ve done is listed each pattern from each book that I’d like to make and made a note of the yarn and its properties. This means that I can look at the projects on Ravelry that have already been made and (hopefully) find a yarn that suits my budget or, better still, in my increasing wool stash. It also means that if I have the urge to make something from a certain book, I’ve already noted down what I like and what it needs. Yes, this is geeky, but gosh darn it, it’s a good system for me.

How do you organise your crafting?

3 thoughts on “Getting my craft on (and organised!)

  1. Hannah Ackroyd says:

    Ooh I love the list! I’m an avid lister and I make lists for everything! I shall have to list something like this because, like you, I have hundreds of craft books and so many projects in mind!

  2. sophie wearing says:

    Love this!!I’m the same with both craft books and magazines:both in terms of piles them annoying the man and noting the ones I want to tackle!My problem is how long the list is,which then plays havok with my list of makes for presents!aghhh.xxx

Leave a Reply

