The Great Mascara Review: Maybelline The Rocket Volum’ Express

Before I go on, I would like to say I have issues with the name of this mascara. Why are we dropping the ‘e’ all of a sudden? I don’t get it. Anyway, on with the review!

Mascara #8: Maybelline The Rocket Volum’ Express (£7.99)

Image: Maybelline

I bought this when it first came out and was on special offer. To be honest, I didn’t have a massive amount of confidence, as I’d fallen foul of special offers before. So for a while, it sat in my mascara box (yes, I have a mascara box. I collected a load to try out, I still have a few. Shut up.) Then, one day, I lost a fairly ‘meh’ mascara that I was using. In fact, this other mascara was SO ‘meh’, I don’t even think I’ll bother reviewing it. I reached for the Maybelline and was pleasantly surprised for a couple of reasons.

1) We all know by now that stupid brushes are my bugbear. This one, as far as newfangled type brushes go, is OK. It’s easy to use and picks up just the right amount of mascara. I haven’t noticed clumping or my lashes sticking together, either. So I’m quite happy with this aspect.

2) The formula seems, for me, spot on. It’s not too dry or too wet, although I’ve seen reviews that have said it is watery- something I just haven’t ever noticed. I’m not wearing mascara every day at the moment, but I’m sure I would have noticed if it was slightly off. I have also worn this in the rain while wearing contact lenses and not noticed it shifting.

Would I repurchase? Heck, yes. I tend to get overexcited by a mascara and then eventually realise it’s pants, but this one (so far) has only been good for me. I have seen a lot of mixed reviews for it, but for me, it’s a winner. That said, I have a few more in my box left to review, so we’ll see.

2 thoughts on “The Great Mascara Review: Maybelline The Rocket Volum’ Express

  1. Eyelash extensions Montreal says:

    Great post I was looking for a mascara brush that wouldn’t clump! I’m looking for a mascara that would work well on with eyelash extensions. Usually its not good to use mascara on eyelash extensions but when there’s a special event or a big party and glam up the lashes a bit, its ok to apply a little bit at the tip to give it little plus bump. Maybe the “e” stands for extensions 😀

Leave a Reply

