2012 Favourites: Films

This is the third in my series of things I’ve enjoyed in 2012 (I’ve already covered books and music.) Like I do with books, I keep a list on Pinterest– this list is not necessarily made up of films released this year, but ones I saw for the first time.

The King’s Speech

The King's Speech

Image: Redbox.com

For someone who is pretty left-wing, I am always fascinated by the royalty of the past. I really enjoyed this film and completely understood the hype it garnered when it was released. It also has Helena Bonham-Carter, who is one of my favourite actresses ever (along with Cate Blanchett.) Because of this film, I now know how to address the queen; “It’s ‘Ma’am’ as in ‘ham’, not ‘Maa’am’ as in ‘palm’.

Made in Dagenham

Made in Dagenham

Image: Wikipedia

I don’t why I was surprised when I loved this. I seriously think all teenagers should be made to watch it, as well as any woman who believes that feminism is just man-bashing. Just utterly brilliant and Miranda Richardson is wonderful as Barbara Castle.

Tyrannosaur

Tyrannosaur

Image: Wikipedia

I saw this a couple of weeks ago and was just blown away by it. It’s grim and utterly depressing, but also very compelling. It’s not an easy watch, but it was rewarding- and it has one of my favourite actresses in it, the lovely Olivia Coleman.

The Dark Knight Rises

The Dark Knight Rises- blogged about at: www.stephaniepomfrett.wordpress.com/2012/07/27/history-lipstick-and-brian-blessed-my-take-on-the-dark-knight-rises/

Images: movies.yahoo.com

I have to include this, as I was totally excited about seeing this before it came out. Although I think The Dark Knight is a better film, this has its plus points, as I wrote about here. I challenge you not to think about Brian Blessed’s voice as you listen to Tom Hardy as Bane (it’s not just me- people have ended up on the blog after googling similar.)

Films to avoid

It’s not often I will see a film and label it as a total dud, but two have really stood out this year- and both star the rather beautiful Emily Browning.

Image: Wikipedia

 

Suckerpunch was just awful- a schoolboy fantasy dressed up as a feminist take on the action film genre and Sleeping Beauty which was just… pretentious. It was the sort of film that gives arthouse a bad name (in my humble opinion. Your mileage might vary.) A weird story and creepy characters- and neither in a good way.

What are your top films of the year? Any recommendations?

 

Leave a Reply

