2012 Favourites: Music

Every Friday in December, I’m doing a rundown of some of my favourite things from 2012 (last week it was all about books.) These don’t necessarily have to be things from 2012, but rather things I’ve discovered and really loved. When talking about music, I must confess that I don’t listen to the radio, so I sort of pick things up when out and about or watching TV. Also, my seventeen year old self would HATE much of this playlist, but whatever. She’s a music snob with terrible taste. In no particular order, let’s begin…

Carly Rae Jepsen- Call Me Maybe

This is annoying. And then it becomes annoyingly catchy. I played it A LOT over the summer, as did everyone else, it seems. The Guardian just voted it their song of the year and, even better than that, Cookie Monster has done a version.

David Bowie- Oh You Pretty Things

I realised that I’d never really listened to any David Bowie, so spent part of the summer rectifying this. Turns out I prefer his earlier stuff to the later stuff.

No Doubt- Settle Down

I love that No Doubt are back. Although this video is a bit overly long, it’s still a great song. I have the new album on my Christmas list…

Kimbra- Cameo Lover

Remember when Gotye sang about somebody he used to know? Well, Kimbra is the female singer on the track. I love this song, it’s so catchy and the video is fun. I’ve been trying to buy her stuff over here, but it seems non-existent or really expensive.

Kate Bush- Running Up That Hill

This song is the only one I really remember from the Olympics closing ceremony. I love it so, so much.

Psy- Gangnam Style

If you follow me on Twitter, you’ll know that I’m having issues with this song. Namely, that sometimes, it’s the only thing that stops D from crying. Apparently, Psy has made millions from it. I’m feeling that I’m owed a cut of it, quite frankly.

What are your songs of the year?

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “2012 Favourites: Music

Leave a Reply

