2012 Favourites: Books

I thought that for the next four Fridays, I would do a rundown of some of my favourite discoveries of 2012. These will not necessarily be thing that were new this year, but rather things that were new to me (if that makes sense?)

I’ve been using Pinterest to keep track of my reading and, by this point in the year, I’ve read 43 books. This is pretty good going when you consider that I’ve got a five-week old baby in the house (I read in the bath. And try not to fall asleep at the same time…) What’s interesting is that, despite writing a post earlier in the year discussing how I struggled to read fiction, my quota of fiction books has shot up. This is mainly because I can’t read or digest anything very heavy at the moment.

Fiction 

This has been the year I discovered Sarah Waters. I’ve read The Night Watch, The Little Stranger and Fingersmith and enjoyed each one. There’s something about her style that just sucks you in- I would say Fingersmith has been my favourite; the twists are just fantastic. I’m looking forward to whatever she brings out next.

 Image: Wikipedia

I read a lot of historical fiction and one that I’ve mentioned on the blog previously is The Crimson Petal and The White. I’d tried to read this in the past, to no avail. However, after watching the BBC production last year, I was desperate to have another go. As it’s a hefty book, I stuck it on my Kindle and hey presto, I devoured it. Like Fingersmith, it’s the tale of a desperate young Victorian woman from the wrong part of London.

I also read The Hunger Games trilogy, which I found to be a refreshing departure from the usual Young Adult type of female character, although I thought that the series kind of petered out by the end of the series. The first book is definitely the better one, in my opinion. But Katniss is sure to go down as a classic YA protagonist.

Finally, a novel I read right at the start of the year, Vile Bodies by Evelyn Waugh, deserves a mention. I loved this story, set in the world of the 1920s upper class. I found it a funny, warm novel that really took away some of the January gloom!

Non-fiction

I think the stand-out non-fiction book of the year for me was Constance: The Scandalous Life of Mrs Oscar Wilde by Franny Moyle. I knew before I read it that I would enjoy it, being both a Wilde fan and having devoured Moyle’s book about the Pre-Raphaelites a while back. I found that it was an enjoyable and informative read (and also lead to one of my most popular posts.)

Constance: The Tragic and Scandalous Life of Mrs. Oscar Wilde

Image: Book Depository

I think my other favourite non-fiction book of the year was Tina Fey’s Bossypants. Part autobiography, part comedy sketch, it kept me sane during a time of insane waiting. It also made me go out and buy Mean Girls and 30 Rock on DVD.

Any suggestions for next year’s reading list?

 

5 thoughts on “2012 Favourites: Books

  1. Trona says:

    I really loved Ian McEwan’s latest ‘Sweet Tooth’, one of my favourite books for a long time. It’s easy to read but really quite intellectually rewarding,highly recommended!

  2. Klina says:

    Tipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters is really good too. The mini series that the BBC made from it is also worth watching. in the YA category I enjoyed reading Divergent by Veronica Roth.

Leave a Reply

