2013 Baking Challenge: How it works!

On January 1st, I intend to start thinking about my New Year resolution- it’s not to give up alcohol (I went months and months with none- it’s nice  to know that I can have a little every now and then!) and it’s not to make my diet healthier, because I never manage that one. It’s to learn to bake. I mentioned this a while back in this post and I thought, with four weeks to go, I’d explain what I’m doing and how you can join in if you fancy.

 

As you can see- planning has commenced with colour coded labelling. Yes, I am that much of a geek.

So, the challenge is as follows:

  • I am planning to mainly use Paul Hollywood’s How To Bake book, but bakers can use any book(s) or recipes they choose.
  • I aim to bake at least two recipes a month over the course of a year- due to the baby, I’ll probably do this on Sundays.
  • I will blog my results- no matter what they are!
  • I will try and bake a range of recipes (bread, cakes, biscuits etc)

If you’re up for the challenge, let me know in the comments what book you plan to use, your Twitter/blog details (if you have either, you don’t have to- you can always just leave comments etc!) and why you’ve decided to take the plunge!

 

14 thoughts on “2013 Baking Challenge: How it works!

  1. Hannah Ackroyd says:

    Sign me up! I’m taking part because I have set myself a ’22 before 22′ list for next year (22 things to do before I turn 22) and baking is on the list! Plus, my boyfriend loves baking too and we never seem to get enough time to do it! Not sure on the book yet (I’ll probably use a combination) but my blog is: http://hannahackroyd.wordpress.com/ and Twitter is @HannahA91 🙂 x

  2. Carolina says:

    I took my first steps in baking this year and I’d love to join you in this challenge 🙂 I have the book HomeBaking but will probably end up using recipes from the internet. As to why I want to learn, I like making things. My dad was a baker, my mum is a pretty good cook. I know how to feed myself but that’s about it and I want to change that. I might add a cooking challenge to the baking.

  3. Lauren says:

    I will attempt to try this too. I may well succeed for the first 6 months. after sprog arrives It may falter… oh and I will probably only bake sweet things. much as I like bread its too much faff, but we shall see!

  4. Mrs Gaeul says:

    I would love to do this! I have a passion for baking, but I put it off due to time and lazyness.

    My blog is mrsgaeul.com and my twitter @mrsgaeul. Looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

