Lanolips Lemonaid Lip Aid

I have been having serious lip issues recently; cold sores (lack of sleep, probably) and dry, horrible lips (lack of drinking water) have been dogging me and really annoying me. I took to Twitter to ask for a solution to the latter problem and the lovely Sophia of Tattooed Tealady fame recommended Lanolips Lemonaid Lip Aid.

Image: Lanolips

As a knitter, I know a bit about lanolin, the main ingredient in Lemonaid Lip Aid- it comes from the coats of sheep (once they’ve been shorn, so is animal-friendly!) and has excellent moisturising properties. Some of the best hand creams I’ve ever used have contained lanolin. You can find out more about it here.

Anyway, I had high hopes; I knew that Sali Hughes has also recommended the brand in her Guardian column, so armed with all this knowledge, I looked at the tester in Boots and figured it was worth the price tag (£9.18). This stuff is thick and so, I reckoned, will last an age. I had to rub the tube with my hands for a few minutes to get even some semblance of movement within. I also decided to ration it to last thing at night and first thing in the morning because I’m stingy.

The smell is amazing- it smells like the best lemon curd ever. Apparently, the lemon is organic and brilliant for exfoliating the lips in a gentle way. I also really like the thick texture. It feels like it’s really working. I noticed, after my first application, that my lips did feel better and that after two days were completely back to normal (had I not got the pesky cold sore, I would have been wearing lippy with a vengeance!) Normally, my lips take a good week to get back to normal.

Would I buy this again? Yes, despite it being at the more expensive end of the market. I think it will last longer and it worked so quickly that I’m very impressed. In fact, I think I will definitely buy the original 101 ointment, as I love multi-purpose products!

Have you tried this? What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Lanolips Lemonaid Lip Aid

Leave a Reply

