Playlist: Favourite cover versions

I’m listening to a lot of music at the moment, for two reasons; 1) I don’t have the brain capacity to do much else some days and 2) the baby really likes music. The other day I was talking to my sister about cover versions and decided to put together a playlist of some of my favourites. Let me know yours in the comments!

The Young Professionals- Video Games

I wrote about Lana Del Rey ages ago and stumbled across this version of Video Games soon after. I really, really love the computer-esque sound of this version and I encourage you to check out the rest of their music.

Johnny Cash- Hurt

This just chokes me up every time I see/hear it; Johnny Cash’s voice, with its tremor and the video with his wife who died shortly afterwards (I think Johnny died soon after her as well.) I also thinks it demonstrates what an amazing songwriter Trent Reznor can be.

Save Ferris- Come on Eileen

I LOVED Save Ferris when I was a teenager, although I’m not sure how I never saw this video until writing this post. I used to dance to this at one of Leeds’ less salubrious indie nightspots every week. My hair was that colour too. Maybe while I’m not at work I’ll dye it that colour again… hmm..

The Futureheads- Hounds of Love

I’m pretty sure there was an official video for this, but I can’t find it. Anyway, I love Kate Bush and I love this reworking of the song.

Walk Off The Earth- Somebody That I Used To Know

I love this band (yes, I know it’s a bit of a gimmick, this video, but also clever.)

Leave a Reply

