Review (and a giveaway!): Find and Keep by Beci Orpin

Hardie Grant UK gave me the opportunity to review another of their brilliant craft books and, of course, I jumped at the chance! Enter the rather gorgeous Find and Keep- 26 Projects To Spark Your Imagination by Beci Orpin (rrp £17.99)

 

First impression of the book  is that it is absolutely beautiful; the page design is stunning and I really like the collages dotted throughout, showcasing where Beci gets (and displays) her inspiration around her home. I thought this was a really inspiring way to get others crafting too- she talks about colours, patterns and anything else that takes her fancy.

 

The projects themselves are seperated into different areas: Studio, Home and Out and About. Each project is graded in terms of difficulty, from easy to hard, and instructions are laid out visually, meaning even the most impatient crafter (read: me) can get straight on without having to read lots of text before even picking up a pair of scissors.

 

The projects are varied and interesting; there’s everything here from embroidery to papercraft to gigantic cross-stitch (which I’m desperate to have a go at!) and everything looks amazing- there’s plenty here to be getting on with and if you fancy making some simple Christmas presents, you could always start with something from here. In fact, I think if you were a wannabe crafter who was reluctant to dip your toe into the crafting waters, this is a book to start with. I also found that looking at the collages and reading about Beci’s life gave me new ideas for other crafty projects I could make in the future. I’m looking forward to making the kite with Fidget when he gets older.

Do you fancy getting your hands on a copy of this book? Leave a comment below telling me about the best thing you’ve ever made (or would have liked to have made.) Leave some way of contacting you- Twitter is best! I’ll draw a winner at random next Friday, November 23rd. Sorry, but the giveaway is UK only. Good luck!

10 thoughts on “Review (and a giveaway!): Find and Keep by Beci Orpin

  1. rachael mounteney says:

    Wow, what a lovely book. I’m useless at crafty things, I try to tell my partner this (who is brill!) and he didn’t believe me until we made some rock monsters. We got some pebbles from the beach, painted them added gogglie (sp) eyes and teeth and mine just looked… well a mess, but his was brilliant – so I’m claim that as my best creation 😉 its also him I talk into doing these craft ideas of mine lol

  2. Vic says:

    This book looks fab would love to win it.
    I think the best thing I’ve ever made is a patchwork quilt, it’s made up of jewel coloured hexagons using the paper piercing techinique. I still can’t believe that I actually had the patience to finish it, being bed bound following an operation is useful for something ha ha.
    I’m @Vicgartland on twitter

    Thanks xx

  3. Alice says:

    The book looks great! Best thing I’ve ever made is probably the chunky crochet blanket for @skullsandponies, it wasn’t exactly a crochet masterpiece but I love seeing her snuggled under it 🙂 I’m @alicestronaut on twitter but I think you knew that 😛

  4. susan says:

    The best thing I ever made was when I was a kid. My Mam said all she wanted for her birthday was a bag of kisses, so off I went and ripped loads of paper up, drew kisses on them and put them in a big bag. The look on her face was amazing! 🙂

  5. Terri says:

    I love craft books, and I did a craft degree (not as mickey mouse as it sounds, honest!) I love making jewellery and things but I don’t have anywhere to solder at home so constantly looking for at home friendly crafty goodness. @hello_terrilowe

Leave a Reply

