The Great Mascara Review: Max Factor False Lash Effect 24-Hour Mascara

A while ago, I was lucky enough to win a giveaway over on Lady of the Lane (do check it out- Charlie is fabulous) of a range of Max Factor products. The premise was that, as the summer was a complete washout, these were products that could cope with bad weather. One of the products was this nifty mascara.

Mascara #5: Max Factor False Lash Effect 24-Hour Mascara

When I first saw that the container was shaped like a bullet, my first thought was “Uh-oh, daft brush ahead”:

However, maybe just this once, I can forgive the weird brush. It’s certainly better than the Rimmel Scandaleyes one and less tricky to initially manoeuvre than the Fanomenal one. It also gives a good, even coverage when applied to my lashes. I would say, however, that it is a slightly chunky brush that takes a bit of getting used to on first go.

The formula is really rather good (and you know I don’t say that lightly in these posts!) It’s got a good consistency; neither too gloopy, wet nor dry and goes on really easily. I also found that it coped really well in conditions that could make mascara go runny, such as being caught in a rainstorm or forgetting to take my makeup off before a bath, for example. I’ve also found that it doesn’t flake, which is an added bonus. According to the website, it contains a primer, which prevents the mascara from clumping or getting generally rather unattractive. This is an interesting added extra that I wasn’t aware of until I began to write this review! I can definitely see how this improves the texture and look of the lashes when it’s being worn.

Another key factor I’ve started to consider when looking at mascaras is how easy they are to remove; the Tony Moly one was an absolute pain to get rid of, even when using the hot cloth method. However, I found that this one came off easily.

Would I buy this again? I think, of the two higher-priced mascaras I’ve tried so far, that this is my favourite. I’ve yet to be convinced that this is ‘the one’, but it is definitely a contender. It does its job well, it’s easy to buy and it’s generally an all-round good egg!

You can see all of my other mascara reviews here.

Have you tried this? Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

