Five favourite films

I watch a lot of films (I teach Media and Film Studies, so I should really see quite a few) although I have massive gaps in my film watching; for example, I only saw Back to the Future for the first time last month and I’ve never seen Star Wars. But when I love a film, I love it totally. As I’ve been watching quite a few films recently, I thought I would recommend five of my favourite ‘feel-good’ films (you know, the sort where no-one dies and the themes are pretty nice. It’s a terrible phrase, but the best I could come up with…)

1. Amelie

(Make sure you turn subtitles on if your French is as bad as mine.)

It’s a cliche to list Amelie as a favourite film, but I love it so, so much. I’m a sucker for most things French anyway, but Amelie is such a lovely character as well. We went on Honeymoon in Montmarte, where the film is set, and stayed not far from where it was filmed. However, I could do without the trend of naming every baby girl in Brighton Amelie.

2. Roman Holiday

This film features The Most Beautiful Man Ever To Grace A Screen (aka Gregory Peck) and one of my favourite actresses, Audrey Hepburn. This was her first film and she won an Oscar for it. It’s a lovely story with a bittersweet ending. Plus, it made me want a scooter at the age of 15.

3. Zoolander

I’m sorry, but if you don’t like Zoolander, we can’t be friends.


4. Kamikaze Girls

 

I love, love, love this film. It’s the story of two Japanese teenage girls who are complete opposites- Momoko, a Versailles obsessed Lolita-inspired dreamer and Ichigo, a member of a girl gang. It’s bonkers and very funny. Even if you’ve never seen a Japanese film before, this one is definitely worth checking out.

5. Elf

I know it’s not Christmas yet, but this is the ultimate feel-good festive film in my opinion. In fact, my copy got nicked at work, it’s that popular. I have bought it again and am saving it for December- I just couldn’t NOT include it!

5 thoughts on “Five favourite films

  1. skye says:

    i love these choices! haven’t seen kamikaze girls, but the others are all pretty awesome. i haven’t watched roman holiday in so long so i’m gonna have to dig that out. amelie is also up there in my top films- but totally agree with you about the name- unfortunately it’s not just brighton, the isle of wight is chock a block too!

  2. Carolina says:

    From your list I’ve only seen Amelie. Must check if I can get any of the others through the library. I got myself Dark Shadows today and Black Swan as they had it on sale. Have you seen Black Swan? I think it’s rather good, weird and not what I would call a feel good film, but good anyway. One of my favourite feel good films is Mona Lisa Smile.

Leave a Reply

