Style crush: Shirley Manson

 

All images: Last FM

I’ve spoken before about how much I love Shirley Manson; I’ve always admired her ballsy, no-nonsense attitude and her incredible vocals. She also always looks amazing. If I look as good as her in my 40s, I’ll be a very happy bunny.

I also have a fondness for Garbage’s music, as it got me through some dark times after uni; her powerful message of confidence and individuality helped me when I lacked self-esteem. Shirley carved her own identity in a largely male environment and then stuck to her guns. I liked that a lot (and still do!)

As a pale-skinned redhead, her makeup shows that I can be adventurous with colours, rather than sticking exclusively to ‘safe’ neutrals and pale colours on the lips- it’s all about confidence. And, although rock stars get to wear what they like and get away with it, there’s something to be said about taking a little bit of fiery attitude and using it in everyday life.

 

4 thoughts on “Style crush: Shirley Manson

Leave a Reply

