Review: Revlon Just Bitten Balm Stain/Color Burst Lip Butter

These are perhaps two of the most uber-hyped products in the blogworld at the moment (so, you know, you could quite easily find a review with better pictures), but as they seem to be on offer everywhere at the moment, I decided to see if they were worth all excitement.I have two of each- the balm stains in Honey (the pale pink) and Romantic (the red) and the lip butters in Candy Apple (the redder one) and Macaroon. Also, I have to apologise for no swatches. The light in my house is appalling and they all looked kind of muddy. You can find loads of swatches online though.

Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stains (£7.99)

I took my first foray into these when buying ‘Honey’ for work. It’s a pale pink that sort of accentuates my natural lip colour, without being too much- I also wear it on weekends if I don’t want to give my mother-in-law a heart attack. ‘Romantic’ on the other hand is a surprisingly strong, confident red that I really, really love. What I like about these is that they’re pretty low maintenance. You slick them on (which, due to the pencil effect, is really easy) and pretty much forget about them; I love them for days when I can’t be bothered with lipstick, as they’re pretty longlasting and you do forget you’re wearing them. They are very moisturising and I just love them. I am a bit dubious about the smell though- it’s a weird minty smell that’s not quite mint. But, to be honest, that’s a minor point.

Oh! Before I forget- how do these compare with Poppy King’s Raindrops? I loved Raindrops a few months ago. Now I find them ‘meh’. You have to sharpen those, for a start (whereas the Revlon just twist up) and I find them really sticky compared to these. Plus they’re more expensive. They languish, sadly, in my makeup bag for now.

Honey (pale pink JBK), Romantic (red JBK), Candy Apple (red lip butter), Macaroon (dark pink lip butter)

Lip Butters (£7.99)

I have a bit of a mixed relationship with these (by the way, I always say ‘lip BUTTAH’ like Mayor Quimby from the Simpsons when I refer to these.) Some days, I really, really love them- they’re very moisturising and do last quite a long time. Other days, I think I’d much rather have a lipstick on, as they can feel a bit sticky and unsophisticated. Also, I change my mind as to whether I like the colours or not.  Candy Apple gives good coverage for something that’s supposedly ‘sheer’ (it’s sort of an orange-y red) and Macaroon, apart from being named after my favourite type of cake, is a kind of neutral pink that’s good for days when full lippy isn’t an option, but you want something- it also doesn’t go on as dark as it first appears, which is nice. But they also show up anything that’s wrong with your lips, so you do need to  have perfect lips to start with I think.

So, worth the hype? I think the Just Bitten stains are definitely going to be a definite repurchase in the future and are worth the hype (they’ll also feature in my autumn makeup in the future.) The Lip Butters? Not so much. I think I’ll stick to lipstick!

Do you have these? Do you like them?

2 thoughts on “Review: Revlon Just Bitten Balm Stain/Color Burst Lip Butter

  1. Cityscape Bliss (@cityscapebliss) says:

    I love both! Especially the lip butters I have to say, although I won’t buy them again unless they are on offer. I wouldn’t fork out more than a fiver for each, and that is A LOT anyways. They shuld be like £3.50-£4 for what they are and how much you’re gettin. I ran out of mine in about 2 weeks? And that’s just ridiculous to pay £8 for that. x

  2. Emma says:

    THANK YOU! Haha, I’ve been trying to find an answer to which of these products is better, but of all the youtube videos and blog posts I’ve read no one has said they prefer one over the other.. which is a bit annoying when trying to decide which one to get. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

