Makeup basics- my top 5 everyday products

I realised that, although I’m incredibly fickle when it comes to eyeshadows/lipsticks/blushers/mascaras, there are a few products that I use everyday without fail. They’re not pricey, but they do their job and they do it well.

1. MUA Pressed Powder (Shade 1)– £1

Image: MUA Store

I realised I’ve never really written a review of MUA Pressed Powder, despite the fact that I use this almost everyday. I wear it over foundation to set concealer and BB Cream just to smooth everything out. It’s brilliant value and the colour is fantastic. It also seems to last longer- I usually use a kabuki brush and it does the job!

2. MUA Professional Eye Primer– £2.50

MUA Professional Eye Primer

Image: Superdrug

This is something else I use without fail. When I’m at work, I get up at 6am and my eye makeup is still on at 9pm when I clean my face. I love it because a little goes a long way and I think it works just as well as Urban Decay’s Primer Potion. I’ve used both and there’s little between them (except about £12…)

3. 17 Hide and Chic Concealer (Light Rose)– £4.99

Image: Boots

I’ve never used Touche Eclat, but this is a good under-eye concealer (I have a weird vein that’s right under one of my eyes and, in certain lights, looks like I have a cracking black eye. Brilliant.) It’s light reflecting and easy to use. Best of all, one tube lasts AGES.

4. Vivo Cosmetics Eyeliner Pencil (black)– £1.50

Image: Vivo Cosmetics

I picked this up on a whim the other week as I was buying lunch in Tescos- and I can say this is possibly my favourite ever pencil eyeliner. It’s not rough or jagged and goes on really smoothly. I’ve been finding liquid eyeliner a bit of a faff since my beloved Master Precise ran out a couple of weeks ago and this has a good, strong pigment (which you can smudge down with the little sponge on the end if it’s too strong for your taste!) Again, really long lasting and totally worth the money!

5. Sleek Makeup Brow Kit (Light)– £7.99

Image: Amazon

I’ve written about this before here and it’s safe to say I’m a fan, despite never really being that into my eyebrows beyond a wax and a quick tidy until recently. Now, I just like the way they frame my face- I’ve not tried any of the other brow kits that have recently appeared, but this one is really good. A tip, though: bin the tweezers and the slanted brush. I use an eyeliner brush (this one) and a pair of more precise tweezers (I use these).

One thought on “Makeup basics- my top 5 everyday products

Leave a Reply

