Review: Holika Holika BB Creams

BB creams are everywhere, aren’t they? And what with the march of the ‘CC creams’, it seems that we’re in for a bit of market saturation soon-ish. I didn’t really fancy trying any of the ones I could buy in the UK, as they all seemed odd on my skin when I tried them in the shops. I did a bit of research and decided that maybe, just maybe, I could get away with trying some South Korean ones; after all, they are different to the ones we have here and tend to have more benefits to them. I chose to try Holika Holika BB Creams in ‘Watery’ and ‘Essential’.

Both of these creams can be bought from the seller I recommended in my last post about South Korean products. The ‘Essential’ cream (orange) was £4.27 and the ‘Watery’ £5.82. So, what’s the difference between these two?

Essential BB Cream

This one is the thicker of the two. It offers more of a light foundation coverage than the ‘Watery’ cream. It also has a higher SPF of 30. According to the manufacturers, it contains caviar and collagen to provide ‘skin elasticity and vitality’. I found that I was a bit cautious with this one, as I’m usually a powder foundation girl. However, I did find that it went on very easily and didn’t feel too heavy (although it was heavier than its counterpart!) There’s a stronger smell to this one and I think it would work better in the winter, if you needed more coverage.

Watery BB Cream

I would say that this one is more like a good tinted moisturiser; it’s sheerer and lighter on the skin. I have to say that I do prefer this one, although it took a bit of getting used to. It also has a slight cooling effect on the skin when it’s put on. The blurb from Holika Holika states that it looks like there’s no make up on the face and that green tea leaf extract ‘helps express transparent and clean face.’ Which I think means you look a bit brighter. I suppose you do.

Swatches 

(Can we just, at this juncture, register how much I hate my phone and its camera? Still need to sort out my actual camera.)

Anyway- the ‘Watery’ BB cream is the lower of the two swatches on my pale, pasty arms. It’s a slightly pinkier tone than the ‘Essential’ and, ironically, it looks heavier in this picture, which it’s not. I would advise that both of these creams oxidise nicely onto my skin, evening it out. The colour matches my own skin tone after a minute or so and I do set it with MUA’s pressed powder or elf’s Complexion Perfection (if I’ve not had much sleep!) They generally last quite well, but I do use a bit of translucent powder after a few hours if I need to.

I tend to wear these on the weekend, as part of my ‘jeans and t-shirt’ makeup (I use moisturiser beforehand, but that’s just personal taste.) I tend to reach for the ‘Watery’, but use ‘Essential’ if I have to go somewhere. All in all, I don’t think these are bad for the price at all.

Have you used them? Any BB Creams I should try?

7 thoughts on “Review: Holika Holika BB Creams

  1. D @ Sweetjellybean.com says:

    I saw this one on Ebay from this seller I’ve been buying from for a while now, I think there’s a purple one on this right? I wanted that one, but then ended up buying a different brand! haha. The colours look more orangey? Or is that your camera? I can certainly recommend some BB creams worth having a look,if you like? 😉 xx D

Leave a Reply

