The ‘why did I buy these?!’ post

It happens to the best of us, doesn’t it? We go into a shop and see something that we like the look of- surely it will work for us, that colour will go perfectly with something we already own, it’s a total bargain. Then, you get it home and BOOM. Totally not what you intended. This is something that’s been afflicting me more recently and I have no idea why. The following products are definitely on my ‘do not repurchase’ list.

1. No. 7 Skin Illuminator (£11)

Image: Boots.com

Now, this is one product I definitely dislike. I think it’s expensive and fiddly for what it is. I did get it in a 3 for 2, so I can’t whinge too much, but I don’t think it’s anything special. What’s maddening about this is the fiddly brush application- you have to squeeze product out through the brush (which you have to turn ‘on’ or ‘off’ and requires cleaning to make it useful for any length of time), which inevitably gives you too much or too little. I squeeze it onto my hand and then use it. Such a faff. It’s a nice colour though and the product itself is OK- I just don’t think it’s worth the price.

2. Mememe Boho Balm (£6.50)

Boho Balms

Image: Mememe Cosmetics

This was on special offer in Superdrug and, as I’d had great success with other products from this range, I figured I’d go for it. I did not consider how these colours would possibly look on me (I think ‘meh’ is the adjective I need.) I found that the texture was far too heavy for me and also a bit too glossy- I’m not a fan of lipgloss and this veered too close for me to feel comfortable with it on. I also found it was too heavy to act as a lip balm. It may come into its own in colder weather, but I’m not holding my breath. It does smell nice though. I should have bought one of their lipsticks instead.

3. Soap and Glory: The Fab Pore (£8.00)

Image: Soap and Glory

OK, I have nothing against this per se except the price and what it claims to do. As a face mask, it’s OK. And, I suppose if I had to really admit it, you do get a fair whack for your money, as a little goes a long way. However, it claims to be a ‘facial peel’, which it isn’t. It’s an exfoliating face mask. Yes, it makes my skin feel nice, but then so do others. Also, it has a really strong smell that sort of reminds me of cleaning products. Mmmm, the smell of Flash on my face.

What do you think? Have you used any of these products? Am I sadly mistaken and should give them another go?

2 thoughts on “The ‘why did I buy these?!’ post

Leave a Reply

