Reading recommendations: feisty female edition!

Ages ago, I wrote that I had a bit of a hard time reading fiction. It’s not that I don’t read- I do, voraciously- it’s just that I was in a bit of a fiction rut. Since that original post, I started using Pinterest to keep track of my reading this year and I’ve noticed a common theme: I like to read about interesting women both in non-fiction (which I knew) and fiction. I thought I would share some of my favourite fierce fictional women.

(Note: all images are from Amazon)

Coraline- Neil Gaiman

Coraline

Because I’m a teacher, I like to keep up to date with young adult books; Neil Gaiman is by far one of my favourite writers, especially in this genre. Coraline is a perfect antidote to the Bella love that many teenage girls have. She’s strong, independent and has a cat as a best friend. What’s not to like?

The Night Watch- Sarah Waters

The Night Watch

The first novel I read by Sarah Waters and it was un-put-down-able! Following three women whose lives are delicately linked, the narrative works backwards, which made me want to read it again- and also made my heart break a little for at least one of the characters.

The Crimson Petal and the White

The Crimson Petal and the White

The main character, Sugar, seems to really polarise viewpoints; you either love her or despair of her. She’s an intelligent women who wants to better her life and get out of prostitution- although she doesn’t quite do it in the right way. It’s a long book, but I loved it and was very, very sad when I finished it.

Gone With The Wind- Margaret Mitchell

Gone with the Wind

There’s a lot about Gone With The Wind that sits uneasily with modern readers, but at its heart, it’s a brilliantly told story with one of the most famous and infuriating characters ever put to paper. This is another long book and I’ve read it twice. Both times I’ve wanted to shout at Scarlett O’Hara for her terrible life choices and both times I’ve liked her despite myself. She is the very definition of a feisty female.

The Tenant of Wildfell Hall- Anne Bronte

I love the Brontes and I always think Anne is the most neglected of the sisters (as demonstrated here by the wonderful Kate Beaton: warning some, ahem, mild profanity.) When I read this a couple of years ago, I found it hard to initially get into, but once I was, I was hooked. The main character, Helen, escapes a violent marriage and defies Victorian social niceties- all in a way that is quietly, rather than overtly, defiant.

Who are your favourite fictional women? Any recommendations for me?

2 thoughts on “Reading recommendations: feisty female edition!

Leave a Reply

