History, lipstick and Brian Blessed: My take on The Dark Knight Rises

This review is mostly spoiler-free, so don’t worry! It’s just a few thoughts I had about TDKR after seeing it last night.

People who know me know I love Batman (although it does surprise some people, who think I’m quite girly…) So much so that I designed a unit for Year 10 media studies and I’ve seen The Dark Knight too many times to count- and I still see new things every time. I’m one of those people who would, if I could remember to get round to it, pay Adam West $35 to sign a photo for me.

I’ve seen all the Batman movies to date and my love of Christopher Nolan’s franchise is deep. I think he does wonderful things and some of the work in TDKR is amazing.

As I was watching the film, trying not to need the loo, a few random thoughts popped into my head.

1. Tom Hardy’s voice

In the film, Tom Hardy plays Bane, a strongman with a Hannibal Lecter-esque face mask which can make his speech slightly unintelligible. I suffer from a very slight hearing impairment, but was assured by my hearing friends that he was hard to hear generally. So I’ll have to re-watch this with subtitles when it comes out on DVD (I’m hoping for a special edition boxset…)

Anyway, so Bane looks like this:

Pretty scary, huh? I’ve never bought into the ‘Tom Hardy is so pretty’ camp, so it’s no great thing to me that he has huge swathes of metal strapped to his face.

Anyway, there was a certain… oddness to his voice. It sounded really familiar in places. And then I realised who he reminded me of:

BRIAN BLESSED! 

2. Lots of parallels with the French Revolution

There are lots of historical bits and pieces in the film, if you know what you’re looking at- for example, there’s the storming of the prison (Oh, hi, storming of the Bastille!) But one scene in particular is very loaded with historical nods and that’s a kind of kangaroo court headed over by a character who has appeared in all three films. The layout, the proceedings and even the chair the accused sit in all look like they were copied from a painting of the trials of the Reign of Terror in the French Revolution.

3. Serious makeup envy

I watched this and actually really liked Anne Hathaway’s portrayal of Catwoman, having been a sceptic before. She looks AMAZING and does a pretty good job as Selina Kyle. But the main thing I noticed was her lipstick- a gorgeous, wine red.

This photo doesn’t do it justice. Being 15ft high on a cinema screen does. So now, I need to find something that does the same thing to my lipstick collection.

Special mention goes to Marion Cotilliard’s eyeshadow. At one point, she looks down and boom– perfect smoky eye (which I suspect is made from a very expensive Chanel eyeshadow. I could be wrong though.)

4. The Dark Knight is the best of the three

I really didn’t want to review TDKR, as it has been done to death; merely I wanted to jot down my thoughts as they came to me. I still honestly believe that The Dark Knight is the best of the three films and that Heath Ledger has left a massive impression on the franchise. I know that a lot of people will disagree with me, but hey, that’s life!

Have you seen the film? What did you think? Any ideas on what shade that lipstick is?!

3 thoughts on “History, lipstick and Brian Blessed: My take on The Dark Knight Rises

  1. Paula says:

    I agree with your opinion on which movie was the best, though I really enjoyed this last one. I was looking the color of the lipstick as well, all indicates that it’s matte, but I don’t believe it’s Russian red as some other pages stated. If someone knows, please do tell! 🙂

Leave a Reply

