Skin care, eczema and me…

So, a while back, I started using cold cream as a way of sorting out my unpredictable skin. I haven’t been as rigorous as I would have liked, but I must say I am seeing a difference. I’ve had to adapt my skin regime according to whether my pesky eczema has broken out around my eyes, but I’ve stayed pretty faithful to a particular way of doing things. This might not work for everyone, but I’ve found that it does for me- with a bit of tweaking, I reckon this could work for lots of different skin types, as well as eczema sufferers.

Morning

In the morning, I use Body Shop’s Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream (£9 for 50ml). I swear by this- it is absolutely brilliant. It is more like a light gel in texture and is easily absorbed into the skin. It’s very refreshing and I find that it helps to wake me up at 6am! I’ve found that the oily bits of my skin, around my nose, have really cleared up since using this every day.

Click for enlarged view

I then use Body Shop’s Vitamin C Skin Reviver (£13 for 30ml), which I have written about before (and is one of my most popular blog posts!) It does a seem a bit pricey, but I have been using the same tube since late March and still have a lot of product left. The dispenser gives a small amount of the serum, which is more than enough for your face. It works as a good makeup primer and has a slight shimmer, although this doesn’t really translate to the skin when it’s being worn.

Click for enlarged view

I then put my makeup on as usual!

Evening

This is where I can change what’s happening, depending on a) how much makeup I’ve worn that day and b) how lazy I feel/whether my skin has flared up.

Generally, I will use Boots’ Traditional Cold Cream (£2.42 for 200ml) I love, love, love this stuff. At first, it made my skin sting a little  bit, but through perseverance, this has stopped happening. I basically smear it all over my face (even my eyelids, even with a bit of eczema!) I then rinse off with cool water, wiping the cream and my makeup off with a flannel. I then splash my face with a bit of cold water, which refreshes the skin.

I’ve found that cold cream is very similar to acqueous cream, which can also be used as a cleanser, and I’ve found that it helps my skin calm down a bit. I also find that it doesn’t matter if I forget to moisturise, as the cream does that for me.

However, if I do remember to put something else on my face, I use Body Shop’s Seaweed Clarifying Night Treatment (£10 for 30ml). It works just like the day cream and has a similar, cooling texture.

Click for enlarged view

If I’m really lazy and my skin isn’t bad, I use Body Shop’s Tea Tree Skin Clearing Exfoliating Pads (£6 for 40), although I find these a bit harsh for regular use!

Click for enlarged view

This post is pretty Body Shop heavy, although not intentionally so! These are the products that have worked for me (I also have a Love Your Body card, which is a dangerous thing to own…)

*These reviews are my own views about products I have bought with my own money. I’m not sponsored in any way- so you know I must really like them!*

3 thoughts on “Skin care, eczema and me…

Leave a Reply

