Beauty Obsession: MUA eyeshadow palettes

I’ve been looking to downgrade my makeup budget well in advance of the baby arriving and so have been reading blogs in earnest, trying to find good alternatives to my usual rather expensive tastes (I will be doing a blog post on this later on!)

One of the brands that keeps popping up is Make Up Academy (MUA), which is sold at Superdrug and online. I’m usually a bit weary, as I have had quite bad experiences with cheap makeup in the past. But when I read on A Thrifty Mrs  that the MUA ‘Undressed‘ palette was a dead ringer for the much coveted Urban Decay ‘Naked’ palette, I figured I’d give it a go. At £4, I wouldn’t go far wrong, right?

12 Shade Undressed Palette

Now, this is a much-hyped product- but I can totally see why. The colours are amazing for a daytime ‘neutral’ look and, with the eye primer (£2.50, recommended recently by Sali Hughes no less!), the colours lasted really well. In fact, the first day I wore some of these colours, I actually burst into tears and still there was minimal budging. Excellent. The colours are also not totally scary in that I, gasp, wore a gold shimmer on my eyelids and didn’t feel like I was about to audition as a Bond girl.

If I’m honest, I didn’t have high expectations, due to the cheapness of the product, but I’ve been pretty impressed. Cheap eyeshadow can be pretty hard and gritty, but not so in this case. I find that the colours are strong and blendable. At such a price too, it’s no big deal if you don’t like one of the colours. I also find I don’t have the anxiety of “Oh, this is so expensive, how can I afford to use this up?”  I really, really like these and will recommend them to high heaven. They’re brilliant.

I’ve also bought the palette in ‘Starry Night‘ and I have my eye on the ‘Heaven and Earth‘ one, too.

*These reviews are my own views about products I have bought with my own money. I’m not sponsored in any way- so you know I must really like them!*

3 thoughts on “Beauty Obsession: MUA eyeshadow palettes

Leave a Reply

