The Great Mascara Review: Rimmel Scandaleyes Show Off

A few weeks ago, I put out a plea for suggestions for the ultimate mascara. I figured that I would make a ‘thing’ of reviewing the mascaras I find, not only for other people, but also as a note to myself as to what to avoid and what to re-purchase.

Enter mascara 1: Rimmel Scandaleyes Show Off (£6.99)

 

I bought this in Superdrug a few weeks ago; I was trying to purchase an alternative mascara when the sales girl asked me if I’d tried that brand before. When I replied no, she suggested buying this one, as it was on offer for £4 (as it was everywhere for an absolute age.) Oh, how I wish she’d left me alone. Yes, I’d have spent more money, but I would have been spared the ridiculousness that is this mascara. I bloody hate it. To be honest, I don’t know why I’m surprised. I’ve never really rated Rimmel’s mascaras, but I thought, you know maybe now was the time I would.

First of all, why are mascaras suddenly all in these weird phallic tubes now? It’s just weird and I’m not really a fan. I also wish that beauty brands would stop using ridiculous brushes. This one was sold to me as being ‘similar’ to Benefit. What a shame the actual formula of the mascara isn’t as good as Benefit’s… although I digress.

The brush is long, with flat bits on the sides and a ball on the end that’s meant to make it easier to pick up tiny lashes. What it actually makes it easier to do is poke yourself in the eye. I found the brush cumbersome and gimmicky. I think the brush is the reason I loathe this mascara so much- just have a sensible brush and be done with it!

The formula itself is OK, but nothing special. I need about three coats to get a decent coverage (I wear eyeliner pretty much everyday, so mascara can be lost really easily.) It’s a bit smudgy after a while too. I wonder whether mascara formulas are being neglected/repackaged in favour of ‘interesting’ packaging and whizzy new brushes?

Would I buy this again? Nope. I wouldn’t even have it as a freebie. I’m only using it up because I’m a cheapskate.

4 thoughts on “The Great Mascara Review: Rimmel Scandaleyes Show Off

Leave a Reply

