Terrible customer service

Why do we allow terrible customer service in this country? (I know this question is a bit, well, Daily Mail, but it really irks me.) I’ve been on the receiving end of some pretty shoddy service today by a well-known knitting website. When I complained about the issue in hand (which would be too long-winded and boring to fully recount here), after one phone call and numerous, onerous emails in which I basically revealed my very soul in order to get a replacement needle tip worth about £2 which I’d offered to pay for anyway, I was basically told, “Yeah, well, thanks for your custom after three years. We couldn’t care less.” This is a business that said they couldn’t have stock software because it was too expensive for a small business to upgrade. And letting customers go is a good thing? Right.

Mary Portas strongly believes that we should vote with our feet in austere times. What I’ve learnt today is that when I did the totally-un-British-against-every-fibre-of-my-being thing and complained, I was treated like I didn’t matter. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t surprised. I won’t be shopping there again and I won’t be naming and shaming in public (but if you ask me privately, I’ll let you know.)

But when customer service goes right, it can be sublime. I’ve had loads of excellent customer service, both face-to-face and online. When I sell things to people, I try to give good customer service. It doesn’t cost anything and is worth way more than free p+p.

So, I guess what I’m asking here is- anyone know of any decent websites where I can get my knitting stuff AND they have stock details on-screen?

Thanks x

2 thoughts on “Terrible customer service

Leave a Reply

