Why I smell like an exotic cake…

So, I mentioned in an earlier post that the hormones had brought about a charming case of dandruff. Which is a tad rubbish, really. I decided to do a bit of research as to how I could clear it up without resorting to Head and Shoulders, which one hairdresser once told me is used to strip unwanted colour from hair. Nasty.

I have long been an advocate of coconut oil for anything and everything- this article here gives some uses for it (although I don’t recommend using it in your coffee like the author does. It’s just NASTY. Instead, I use it in instead of olive oil in any Chinese/Thai/Japanese cooking I’m doing. But buy a jar of food grade oil and keep it separate from your other jar! You don’t want hair in your stir-fry.) I buy it from Superdrug for the princely sum of about £1.59- I couldn’t find it on the website, but it’s in a white plastic pot. Alternatively, you can get it from Boots, but it’s a bit more expensive.

Aaaanyway, it’s brilliant for flaky scalp and so I’ve taken to using it once a week on my hair. It also has the added bonus of making your hair smell like holidays. The oil itself is solid, so you can either scrape bits up and then warm them in your palms before spreading it over your hair (I recommend brushing through, too) or you can warm a bit up in a bowl over some hot water to give yourself a hot oil treatment. Don’t worry if you have dry/oily/frizzy hair, as it’s suitable for all hair types. I find that, with my very wavy and thick hair it works brilliantly. Also, if there is any itching, it kind  of dies down as soon as the stuff is on your hair. You can leave the oil on for as long as you like. I tend to leave it for anywhere between 1-2 hours, but I know some people leave it on overnight.

So, I did my usual hair treatment and then decided to wash it off with some Body Shop Ginger shampoo. Ginger has astringent properties and so, I reckoned, combined with the loveliness of the coconut oil, I’d be onto a winner. I’d also found that using my usual shampoo was just not really working very well at washing all the oil out.

Ginger Anti Dandruff Shampoo - Shampoo

The key to successfully using the coconut oil as a hair mask is to wash it out thoroughly. So make sure you lather and rinse at least twice. The ginger is not particularly overpowering, just pleasantly warm. I found that after washing my hair it was squeaky. Really, really clean. (Oh, another tip- don’t condition after you’ve shampooed. You’ll just make your hair oily and unpleasant.)

My scalp is breathing a sigh of relief and I aim to continue this treatment once a week. Although the coconut smell is not as powerful as usual, I do smell like some lovely, spicy cake- which is always nice. My hair is also really shiny and I don’t have to be paranoid that I’m going to look like I’ve had an accident with some icing sugar.

5 thoughts on “Why I smell like an exotic cake…

    • stephaniepomfrett says:

      Taj in Brighton sells *loads* of types, but I’m planning on going on a scavenge online for cosmetic and food grade in a future post! Holland and Barratt sell it, but they sell out pretty quickly and are rather expensive, IMHO.

Leave a Reply

