Beauty Obsession: Maybelline Master Precise eyeliner pen

My name is Steph and I am an eyeliner addict. I have been since I was 16 and there’s barely been a day in the twelve years since that I haven’t worn a slick of black eyeliner. At one point, it got to such a point that my festival party trick was to put it on perfectly without a mirror. I blame old school Hollywood for my obsession, I really do.

Throughout the last few years of my life, I have searched high and low for the perfect eyeliner. I tried Maybelline’s Eye Studio Lasting Drama, which was fine but fiddly; the brush gunks up really quickly and is a bit of a faff to clean. I even had two brushes on the go at one point, but I gave up. I was spending more time washing my make up brushes than I was washing my hair. So not good for a lazy gal.

Then I tried Bourjois’ (oh, how I love Bourjois! I shall have to blog about their cute little eyeshadows that look like macarons…) Liner Feutre, which I found scratchy and difficult to control. The nib was too difficult and I found I was stabbing myself in the eye as a morning ritual. Which would be good if I was purging for sins or something, but not when I’m trying to get ready for a long day at work that involves a parents’ evening. Red eyes only look good on white rabbits.. I chucked it away in the end.

So, I spent time using one unsatisfactory eyeliner after another. Then, when in Leeds recently, I ran into a product that I think I will be forging a long and happy relationship with. Maybelline Eye Studio Master Precise Liner is amazing. I’ve been using it solidly for a month and I have absolutely no complaints. (Weirdly, although I bought it at Boots, there is no mention on the website and Maybelline’s own site doesn’t mention it. This leads me to think that it’s really new.)

It’s a felt tip pen but, unlike Bourjois, it doesn’t drag and the end line is really sharp and precise. What’s brilliant is that the line, when drawn on, lasts for absolutely ages. Seriously, I’ve fallen asleep and found it still stuck on my face the next day! (I know it’s bad to sleep in your make up, but hey, it happens.) It also seems to have good staying power against rain, which is a bonus.

I think if you were used to applying liquid liner with a brush, this is a breeze to use. But I also think that if you were diving into the world of strong eyeliner, this would be easier to master than a little pot with a brush.

It’s definitely worth £6 in my view- a month later and it’s still going strong!

*These reviews are my own views about products I have bought with my own money. I’m not sponsored in any way- so you know I must really like them!*

6 thoughts on “Beauty Obsession: Maybelline Master Precise eyeliner pen

  1. Tracey says:

    I’m going to pick this up today. Usually use Gosh’s long lasting eyeliner pen but will take a punt on your recommendation.

Leave a Reply

