I’d like your reading suggestions, please!

So, a couple of days ago, I wrote about how I was struggling with reading fiction and I’m still finding it a bit of a struggle. I’d quite like suggestions, if you have any, of books you think I should read or would like. To give you an idea of what I’ve read so far in the last few weeks:

 The Night Watch by Sarah Waters

 I really, really loved this novel. So much so that I went out and bought a few more of hers. I still haven’t bought ‘Tipping the Velvet’, so I’d like to know others’ opinions on that.


Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates

This had been on my bookshelf for a while and I remember buying it because I’d enjoyed the film. It’s a claustrophobic and uncomfortable read, which I think I would have enjoyed more had I not seen the film, but I really enjoyed reading Yates’ style.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

This is a book that I judged by its cover (which was more exciting than the actual contents.) It’s a beautiful book in terms of description and visual imagery, but the story itself wasn’t particularly strong or compelling. I thought there were too many characters and that the story jumped around a bit too much.

When God was a Rabbit by Sarah Winman

It’s not often I loathe a book. I loathed this one. I hated the story, I hated the main character, there were stupid grammatical mistakes… If one of the events that happen in this book, it would be remarkable. For all of them is stupidly unlucky. I was bored and only finished it because I hate leaving a book unfinished. This will be straight to the charity shop.

I’ve just started reading Day of the Locust by Nathaniel West and Vile Bodies by Evelyn Waugh, which I’m too early in to say anything about.

What are your favourite books? Which authors should I take a look at, in a bid to shake off my fiction ennui?

One thought on “I’d like your reading suggestions, please!

  1. Carolina says:

    I liked Tipping the Velvet, the BBC mini series was really good too! I’ve not seen Revolutionary Road, should I read the book first?
    I liked The Gallow’s Curse by Karen Maitland (the author of the Owl Killers) and I’ve just finished The Children’s Book (A.S. Byatt) which was…it was good but it has a lot of characters so it took some time to get to know them. I also really, really like Terry Pratchett.

Leave a Reply

