When I grow up…

In about six weeks, I will be 28. I reckon that 28 is probably going to be a good age. It must be, because I keep accidentally saying that I am actually 28. Obviously it’s already stuck in my mind.

I’m reading Revolutionary Road, which is all about growing up, and whether you necessarily grow up in the direction you thought you would or would liked to have grown. I still think I’m growing and I think this is a good thing. Do I think I’ll be working in the same career I am now in a few years time? No. Do I know where I’ll end up or how I’ll get there? Not at all. It’s pretty alarming, really, but I’m of a mind that everything happens for a reason and that we should take opportunities when they arise (that is, if they ever do…)

If you’d have asked me ten years ago where I thought I’d be now, I would have guessed that I’d be living in London, working for a magazine, with the lad I was with then. Fast forward to now and nothing looks like I thought it would. Is that a bad thing? Not particularly. I’m obviously on a path to something, I’m just not sure what it is yet.

My grandad was a bus driver for most of his adult career. When he signed up to work, he had a pretty good idea that he could do that job for the whole of his adult life if he wanted to. Heck, even in the 80’s, that wasn’t such an outlandish idea. Now, with the world feeling like it teeters on the brink on a daily basis and everything feeling just a little bit fragile, we know that we can’t take things for granted. And whilst that’s scary, it’s also… interesting. It means that, unlike the Wheelers in Revolutionary Road, chances to fulfil something or to do something new and interesting are more realistic, because we have the choice, whether we’re forced to make it or not.

So, what do I want to be when I grow up? I don’t know. Something where I can work in my pyjamas, preferably.

Leave a Reply

