Friday Fabulosity: Lucy Worsely

So, I’ve decided that every Friday, I’m going to blog about a fabulous woman who I think is basically brilliant.

If I could have any job in the world, I’d research and write historical non-fiction. Lucy Worsely gets to do this and she works at Hampton Court. Her book ‘Courtiers’ about the people in the mural on the staircase at Kensington Palace was one of my favourites of last year. Lucy writes in a witty, accessible style that, quite frankly, I’m jealous of.

Then there are the TV programmes. I watch a lot of historical documentaries on a lot of different subjects and there has definitely been an increase in female historians on TV, particularly glamorous, yet accessible ones in the vein of Amanda Vickery- all sweeping away the dusty old patriarchical view of history so presented by the Starkeys and Schamas of the world. Lucy has been described as having a  ‘jolly hockey sticks’ manner, which is true. But she undertakes every task with enthusiasm and fun- even when she has to pour urine on clothes to clean them! I really like the fact that she wants to get stuck in and isn’t afraid of mucking up or mucking in. I can’t imagine David Starkey dressing up in period dress and staying a night in a Tudor farmhouse, can you?

Then there’s Lucy’s hair- a perfect, neat little bob, always tucked up with a retro barette. The sort of style I wish my would submit to. (Alas, Celtic genes blessed me with unruly hair.) And that scarf in the picture? I covet that too, as well as her intimate working knowledge of the life of the Prince Regent.

But really, I’d be happy if I could just have her office at Hampton Court.

Leave a Reply

