So long, 2011!

2011 has been an interesting year and in some ways, I’ll be sad to see it go.

I got married this year to a wonderful man and I am very lucky. I won’t miss the endless planning/people wanting to talk to me about my wedding (seriously- we had a low key wedding and I enjoyed it. But God, I was bored when people asked me about it. There were other things I wanted to talk about! Books! Films! The weather!) We went to Paris and I achieved a long held goal: to see Oscar Wilde’s grave. I think that afternoon in Pere Lachaise was, other than the day we actually got hitched, one of the happiest I have ever had. Wandering around, looking at dead people’s final resting places and wondering what species the odd looking bugs were that we saw on every path. Morbid, but there you go!

I read fifty-four books this year. Some were re-reads (such as Gone With The Wind- one of my all time favourites) and some were really inspiring. I think my favourite of 2011 was How To Be A Woman by Caitlin Moran- who I was lucky enough to meet (by meet, I mean accost in the street outside of Wagamama’s in Brighton. Thankfully, I don’t think I made too much of a prat of myself…!)

I did some interesting creative stuff, I sold some of my crafty wares at a couple of craft fairs and I made stuff that some people seemed to like. I also started my Ladies in Monochrome website, which has kind of taken over more than I expected it to (but I don’t really mind!)

I went on my first strike,  in protest at the hardships facing public sector workers and I despaired at how I perceived the government to be treating the people of this country. I despaired at the way I saw people behaving in the riots. I was both fascinated and horrified at the way the press ethics enquiries unfolded. I watched a turbulent world lurch from crisis to crisis.

But sometimes, things went well. And I hope that 2012 is a brilliant year.

Happy New Year

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

