Post-Christmas ramblings

So, we’re now in that odd period between Christmas and New Year when, even though the world is technically back to normal for a few days, nothing really is. Traditionally, I’ve always found this period difficult and one of the potential flash points in bringing on depression, but this year is the first year in three when I haven’t been on any medication and this is something I would like to keep up… It’s been a struggle, but so far, so good.

In my last post, I wrote about how busy I was and how I was looking forward to a quiet Christmas- I continued to be busy, right up until today. Yesterday, with a few spare hours, I grumbled I was bored and then promptly fell asleep! Clearly a) I am incapable of sitting around for very long without having something to do and b) I’m probably a bit knackered.

I’ve done a bit of exercise today and discovered that, clearly, I am no longer as fit as I thought I was. So now I have exercise added to my ‘to-do’ list (is there any point in calling them ‘New Year’s Resolutions’? To me, that’s just setting yourself up for failure come January 15th.) Ironically, after doing a workout, all I want to do for the rest of the day is sit on the sofa eating Pringles. We don’t have any crisp-based products in the flat, thankfully…

Christmas itself was lovely, as usual, with too much food and lots of lovely presents.  I was appalled to see so many people take to the internet (particularly Twitter) to complain that they didn’t get what they wanted/expected to get for Christmas- and not all were teenagers. I think next year maybe these people should work in a soup kitchen and then see how they feel about not getting an iPhone.

Anyway, I am going to use these few days to work on a few interesting projects that I might get further involved with. I have to start thinking about what I want to do with my future, as I’m not sure whether I am entirely happy with the way things are at the minute. I need to start looking at new options and setting up new ideas whilst I have the time. And what better time than when we’re all supposed to turn over a new leaf?

Leave a Reply

