Setting myself a clothing goal

As you are probably aware, I am currently teaching myself to sew. I am also knitting a cardigan. The other day I had a bright idea: what if, by the end of 2015, the bulk of my wardrobe was either handmade or bought secondhand? Could I do it? Or does that way madness lie?

I’m currently knitting a Miette in navy:

 

20140608_133800.jpg

and I plan to use either red or yellow and white polka dot buttons when it’s done:

20140608_133804.jpg

Eventually, it should look like this:

I also have it in mind to make one of the new Colette dress patterns, Moneta. I saw it on some plus-sized sewing blogs lately and fell in love it. It’s the kind of style that I like and that suits me, plus it has so many options. I think I have to make it!

Image: Collette

Image: Collette

As for my Miette skirt, designed by Tilly and the Buttons, that is going slowly. Not because of the pattern, but because I lost all confidence in myself. Plus a lack of space is getting frustrating. Sigh. I hope to have it finished soon though, so I can show you!

So, my goal: to knit and sew clothes so that by the end of next year I have at least something resembling a wardrobe made by moi. What do you think?

 

3 thoughts on “Setting myself a clothing goal

  1. You’re so brave! I once tried to make a vest but, as I don’t know how to operate a sewing machine, I sewed it by hand. The resulting vest was ‘wearable’ but it was such an exhausting experience that I’d never tried it again ;) But I have confidence in you!

Leave a Reply

