Britpop playlist

Benn and I have been listening to BBC6 Music’s History of Britpop stuff this week and we had a discussion about it last night; I loved Britpop, Benn was more into dance music (he was a strange child.) It was a funny time for me, the mid-90s. I was a bit too young for grunge (I discovered that later) and I distinctly remember loving Pulp before The Spice Girls even arrived. Anyway, I thought I’d put together a playlist of Britpop classics for a sunny afternoon!

By the way, in the comments, can you tell me which band was the best of the genre? Benn and I disagree.

 

The Bluetones- Slight Return

I’ve had discussions with my friend Alex about how The Bluetones are one of the more underrated Britpop bands. I love this song and never get bored of it.

Elastica- Connection

Elastica are one of those bands I’ve learnt to like more as I got older; they didn’t really register on my radar at the time of Britpop.

Sleeper- What Do I Do Now?

I love this song. I loved it when I was a kid and I always wanted Louise Wener’s haircut. Alas, my hair did not want that haircut.

Pulp- Common People

For me, Pulp areĀ the band of Britpop; I can’t quite explain it, but I think they didn’t have the boorishness of Oasis or the faux-matey-ness of Blur. They just got on with it. Plus, Jarvis Cocker can do no wrong in my eyes. (Fun fact: we had this played at our wedding, video and all.)

Oasis- Live Forever

Despite what I said about Oasis, Definitely Maybe is one of my all time favourite albums. I just liked them before they got a bit messy.

Blur- The Universal

Unlike with Oasis, I prefer Blur’s later stuff (as this was released at the end of 1995, I reckon it still counts as Britpop). It’s a shame British Gas ruined what is essentially a lovely song with quite a scary message though.

Dodgy- Good Enough

Remember when one of Dodgy was engaged to Denise Van Outen? No? I do. Anyway, as a kid, I loved Dodgy’s exuberance and joie de vivre… another underrated band.

Echobelly- King of The Kerb

I remember singing this at school and not having any idea what the lyrics were about. I may have also had this on a Smash Hits tape…

4 thoughts on “Britpop playlist

  1. Great playlist. I loved Pulp too, and still do. When I was at uni, we used to go to karaoke, and there was a guy who sang Disco 2000 every week, without fail. It was amazing.

    I also love The Bluetones, and Slight Return is a fantastic song. I’m also fond of a bit of Elastica, Ocean Colour Scene and Ash!

  2. Awesome playlist! I’ve been listening to BBC6’s Britpop celebrations too; I think I was a bit too young at the time to really appreciate it, but I went through a phase of loving it in my teens.

Leave a Reply

