Another crazy idea

I’m actually scheduling this on Sunday afternoon, so I have no idea which film will win Best Picture tonight at the Oscars (I reckon- without having seen it, mind- that it’ll be American Hustle. I can feel it in my waters. Of course 12 Years a Slave won. My waters were having a bad day yesterday.) Anyway, I’ve been reading the BuzzFeed rankings of all of the winners of the Best Picture award and I realised how many of those winners I HAVEN’T seen, which is a bit shameful for a teacher of film and media.

All About Eve (1950)- can you identify the young starlet in the background? Image: 20th Century Fox

All About Eve (1950)- can you identify the young starlet in the background?
Image: 20th Century Fox

Anyway, reading the list of winners, I have seen the following:

  1. Grand Hotel (1931)
  2. It Happened One Night (1934)
  3. Gone With The Wind (1939)
  4. Rebecca (1940)
  5. Casablanca (1943)
  6. All About Eve (1950)
  7. My Fair Lady (1964)
  8. The Godfather (1972)
  9. The Silence of the Lambs (1991)
  10. Forrest Gump (1994)
  11. Titanic (1997)
  12. Shakespeare in Love (1998)
  13. American Beauty (1999)
  14. Chicago (2002)
  15. LOTR: The Return of the Ring (2003)
  16. No Country for Old Men (2007)
  17. Slumdog Millionaire (2008)
  18. The King’s Speech (2010)
  19. The Artist (2011)

So I’ve seen roughly about a quarter of the Best Picture films, but some of these were so long ago that they merit a re-watch. You can see, too, how my obsession with Hollywood of the 30s/40s/50s is better represented than more modern films. There are loads of great films I haven’t seen though- and I am determined to put that right and watch more of the winners.

Where should I start? (All the winners are listed here.)

One thought on “Another crazy idea

Leave a Reply

