World Book Day tag

Next Thursday, it’s World Book Day (I know this because I have to go into work dressed up as a book character. A couple of years ago, I went in as a half-arsed Dorothy and this year I am going in as a half-arsed Fantastic Mr Fox.) Anyway, in honour of World Book Day, I thought I would start a tag and see how far it goes. It’s about books, obviously. If you decide to do it, let me see the results!

1. If you were stranded on a desert island with one book to last you the rest of your life, what would it be?

Probably Wuthering Heights- it’s got me through a fair few bouts of homesickness for Yorkshire before. Although it would probably mean I would sing the Kate Bush song a lot too (not a bad thing.)

2. Which book changed your life?

Probably The Other Boleyn Girl. It reignited a love of historical fiction that I’d had as a kid. It also led me down a wormhole of reading up on history that has kind of mutated and grown branches. It’s a shame though, as I have never liked any of Philippa Gregory’s other novels quite so much- and the film was bad too.

3. What was the first book that made you cry?

Charlotte’s Web when I was about nine. I still can’t bring myself to re-read it and I’m a grown up these days.

Image: Waterstones

Image: Waterstones

4. What was the last book you read that completely baffled you?

For years I’ve been mystified by The Wind Up Bird Chronicle. Seriously, it’s about ten years since I read it and I still have no idea what it was about. I have read more Murakami since though, so it didn’t put me off his other work (although that can be pretty weird too…)

5. What’s your favourite novel?

It’s so hard to pick one- I love lots of novels for lots of reasons! Gone With The Wind is definitely a favourite but I also love Fingersmith by Sarah Waters.

6. What’s your favourite non-fiction book?

Anything by Antonia Fraser is always going to be good, but I especially like her biographies of Mary Queen of Scots and Marie Antoinette. (There I go again with my beheaded-queen fascination!)

Image: Waterstones

Image: Waterstones

7. Have you ever read a book you loved so much that you refused to watch the film?

I just won’t be able to bring myself to watch The Book Thief when it comes out. It’s such a dear book to me (it made me cry four times and I don’t even think I will be able to re-read it either) and a friend caught a preview and wasn’t very complimentary. I can’t bear to have it ruined for me!

8. What is your favourite way to read a book?

I like a long, very hot bath and to be left alone. Then I like to have nothing planned except reading in bed! A good cup of tea is essential as well.

9. What’s at the top of your ‘to-read’ list?

I’m back on a book-buying ban (boo), but I did buy a couple of new books earlier this month. My next book is Bertie by Jane Ridley, about Edward VII- he’s a bit of an interesting figure and I love a royal rogue as much as a tragic queen.

Image: Waterstones

Image: Waterstones

10. Finally: if you were me and you had to dress up as a character for World Book Day, who would you choose?

I’m actually toying with changing my idea and going as Robin Hood, just so I can draw a moustache on myself.

I’m not going to tag anyone, but would encourage anybody who wants to do this to go for it! Let me know when you have so I can have a nosy…

5 thoughts on “World Book Day tag

  1. Pingback: Books 2014: February | Stephanie Pomfrett

  2. Pingback: Literary Life: February in Review | ofBooks

  3. Pingback: Books glorious books |

Leave a Reply

