Book Review: Storyland Cross Stitch

It’s too hot to do much in the way of knitting, so I was delighted to be offered a copy of Storyland Cross Stitch by What Delilah Did. As someone who is fascinated by fairy tales and the slightly unreal, it’s right up my street.

storyland1

What I really, really like about this book is that it comes with a free gift of a little square of fabric, some thread and a needle: meaning that even the most inexperienced stitcher can get cracking on one of the beginner projects straight away. It’s a really good idea that encourages people to have a go. The kit is enough for a few of the projects, so no matter what your skill level, you can dive right in.

storyland2

The styling in the book is very much in tune with the whole What Delilah Did brand- pretty, with a hint of whimsy and the occasional hint of darkness (I just LOVE the Big Bad Wolf pencil case.)

storyland3

The book is divided into clear sections, depending on skill level. Although I would say I’m intermediate, there are projects in all sections that I would like to have a go at. My particular favourites are the silhouettes; I’m very tempted to make a frog prince for D’s room! ┬áThe stitch charts themselves are large, clear and easy to understand.

What’s also really great about this is that even the making up sections are clear, easy to follow and illustrated, meaning that it’s very hard to go wrong. I’m planning on making the Wise Owl cushion after realising the instructions are so straightforward, it would be impossible to muck it up.

storyland4

If you’ve been toying with picking up cross stitch as a hobby, this is a brilliant and inspiring book. I shall certainly be trying some of these projects over the summer.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Storyland Cross Stitch

  1. I saw the owl cushion on the website, it looks gorgeous. I need to keep reminding myself that I don’t like stitching that much before I buy it! Oh that reminds me, I have a book of cross-stitch projects based on childhood favourites with a couple of Postman Pat charts. Could send it to you, the book is in Dutch though.

  2. Pingback: Storyland Cross Stitch by What Delilah Did | hannahackroyd

Leave a Reply

