Book Review: Knit to Flatter

I’ve been on a bit of a knitting book buying spree recently- since finishing my OWLS jumper, I have been interested in making garments.One of the problems I have is that my body has weird dimensions, so I decided that Knit to Flatter by Amy Herzog might be the way to go.

SAM_0258

What I love about this book is that it really does cater for all body shapes- in the introduction you’re shown how to measure yourself to get a correct idea of your body type. The book is then split into sections according to your proportions. I love the tone of the book too- friendly, without being patronising and encouraging without being annoying!

SAM_0260

What’s also brilliant is that if a pattern is in a section that doesn’t apply to you, you’re given ideas of ways to change it so it does suit your shape. I would happily knit most of the patterns in the book, so this is an absolute godsend! I’ve also found that it’s given me more confidence when choosing patterns that suit me; I’ve often been super cautious and a bit nervous about what will suit me. However, each pattern is shown on two different models to show how it looks on bodies of different proportions (but with the same basic type- this is shown in the photo above!)

SAM_0259

I also really like how the layout talks you through each pattern, highlighting clever techniques and showing you just how a flattering fit is achieved.  The models also all look like actual people of different sizes and shapes, so I have every confidence I can make the garments here- some knitting books are gorgeous, but look a bit too out of this world to be worth knitting. What’s the point in a fancy jumper if it’s just going to be covered in baby sick?

Anyway, for anyone who wants to dip their toe into the ocean of garment knitting, I would totally recommend Knit to Flatter!

One thought on “Book Review: Knit to Flatter

Leave a Reply

